PDA

View Full Version : How to frag Zoa's

Bkoper
07/30/2013, 10:10 AM
As the title says, I am new to Zoa's and want to start learning about how to frag. I know I will need gloves and various cutting tools, but would truly be thankful for any info. I have watched You-Tube vids, but know that info fro experienced folks is gold.

Thanks ahead

Mattewell
07/30/2013, 10:47 AM
I'd suggest glasses or goggles also. You don't want to accidently get anything in your eye. There really isn't much to the actual fragging, just cut a polyp off with a razorblade and glue it to a frag plug with super glue.

88rxna
07/30/2013, 11:02 AM
What if they are established onto rocks? I can see just using a razor to separate polyps. But how do you detach it from the rock? Just "peal" it off with the razor?

Mattewell
07/30/2013, 11:12 AM
yes, I have had good luck cutting underneath the polyp on the rock. Just be sure to get as much of the base as possible. Live rock is pretty soft and you can also do a bit of digging with the razorblade. Of course its not good for the blade but they are cheap and can be replaced.

Mattewell
07/30/2013, 11:13 AM
By the way, I use straight edge razor blades.

aandfsoccr04
07/30/2013, 02:27 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y-KGAH93qys

kichimark
07/30/2013, 02:51 PM
What if they are established onto rocks? I can see just using a razor to separate polyps. But how do you detach it from the rock? Just "peal" it off with the razor?

Nope. It is much better for the polyp if you cut some of the base rock underneath the polyp and glue that piece to the plug. If you peal the polyp from the rock you will greatly stress it and might even cause its demise.

terrypercula
07/30/2013, 03:02 PM