PDA

View Full Version : Dry rock questions!!

saltydawg11
08/04/2013, 03:30 PM
Hello everyone! I'm new to Reef Central and the hobby itself. I have been collecting the necessary equipment and researching for almost a year now and ready to start setting up the 75 gallon tank!! Finally. I'm just stumped on what to do exactly with my 30lbs of pukani and 50lbs fiji, all dry rock :confused: . I know there are a lot of posts about it but I can't seem to find what I am looking for. All that I have done is pressure washed it. I also plan on seeding it with a few pounds of live rock.

1. Should I let it cure/cycle in my display tank (there is nothing in the tank) if so should I add the sand and run the skimmer, pumps? I have about 80lbs of dry sand and 20lbs live bag sand

2. If not I have a brute container so should I cook it or acid bath? I honestly don't want it leaching PO4 for like 6 months cause that would suck.

3. Should I cure in tap, RODI water, or salt?

4. Lights or no lights?

5. Should I add a piece of dead shrimp or use bio-spira?

6. How often should I do water changes?

Reefmedic79
08/04/2013, 04:36 PM
[WELCOME]

1. Let it cure and cycle in the main display, when did you pressure wash it? Did you give it time to dry out completely? If so then you should have no problems putting it in the tank right away. Set the tank up completely, sand, pumps, and skimmer.

2. Where did you get the dry rock? I purchased my base rock online and have had no issues with PO4. If this is a concern, put the rock in the brute full of fresh RODI water with a pump and let it sit for a week or so. Then test the water for phosphates, If you got change the fresh water and repeat checking every week. I've heard this process can take a few weeks to a couple of months though.

3. RODI if your checking for PO4, if it comes back clean then get it in the display and start your cycle.