PDA

View Full Version : Seeding Dry Rock and fish?

jeo1997
08/05/2013, 02:59 AM
Hey guys, I am new to the hobby have had the tank about 6 weeks, my PH is between 8.0 - 8.2, ammonia is just about zero; some traces but not as high as 0.25, nitrate is 0 and nitrite is 0, the temperature is at 26 degrees Celsius (around 79 degrees Fahrenheit) and the salinity is 1.025, is this safe for fish and corals. Also, I am getting some live rock, if I get one piece and the rest dry will it seed the dry, if so how long will this process take? Would it be better just to get all live rock?
Thanks, much appreciated, Joe :bounce3:

shifty51008
08/05/2013, 04:40 AM
what do you already have in the tank now? any rock or sand and if so how much?

thegrun
08/05/2013, 06:49 AM
Until there is no trace of ammonia you need to wait.

E Rosewater
08/05/2013, 07:08 AM
If you're using an API test kit you will likely have a false positive for ammonia.

No matter what you do, give at least a few months before adding coral. Figure out what you're doing and make sure you can keep the water chemistry in line with fish before adding coral.

FunInFloridaSun
08/05/2013, 11:59 AM
I would add the rock now and keep testing a while longer.

Fizz71
08/05/2013, 01:28 PM
All the above are valid...

We need to know what's in there now for rock.
If there is LR, then need to see if the ammonia reading is a false positive..those yellows are hard to see aren't they. :)
Add nothing but rock until the ammonia is zero...but if there is no rock in there now that's moot at this point.

And dry rock is technically seeded the next day after it's in with live rock but being seeded doesn't mean it's ready for a full bioload. What I try to do is have enough live rock to handle the immediate bio load, and not worry about the dry rock. Then just slowly over the next year add to the bioload slowly and slowly let the original dry rock slowy catch up. Slowly. :)