PDA

View Full Version : SPS and LEDs?

stlcards14
08/10/2013, 01:33 PM
I'm running kessil a350 and recently wanted to get into SPS coral. I have heard debated about LEDs for some time now and would like to hear it from the SPS experts themselves. Is anyone having success running just Kessils on their tank with no additional lighting? Pics would greatly help in the debate.

Saltar
08/10/2013, 07:24 PM
My local LFS is running Kessil and growing SPS on their main tank.

Ross33
08/10/2013, 07:59 PM
I'm not an expert but I do have a few years experience with sps and LEDs. From what I have seen, yes it is possible to keep them and some did well. Most did very average. FWIW my new tank is going to be halides.

CBlair
08/10/2013, 11:24 PM
I'm not an expert but I do have a few years experience with sps and LEDs. From what I have seen, yes it is possible to keep them and some did well. Most did very average. FWIW my new tank is going to be halides.

I 100% agree, I ran both ai sol and radions on my tank and some did ok others did not like led. I ordered an ati sunpower 8bulb t5 and installed it about a week ago. Corals seem much happier with the t5 in just 1 week. This is just my experience

Touring
08/11/2013, 12:41 AM
I 100% agree, I ran both ai sol and radions on my tank and some did ok others did not like led. I ordered an ati sunpower 8bulb t5 and installed it about a week ago. Corals seem much happier with the t5 in just 1 week. This is just my experience

Keep us updated,picks too if you can

chad p
08/11/2013, 02:25 AM