PDA

View Full Version : UPS and Power outage

hobbes1
08/19/2013, 09:16 AM
Hello,

I am new to Reef Central but have had a Saltwater aquarium since 2004.

This last weekend, we had a mini disaster with our aquarium. Friday night we had several power blips and then eventually lost our power for about 10 hours. I have had an issue with our ATO which is under the tank that when we have a power blip and when the power comes back up my ATO wants to flush a bunch of water into the sump. It does this every time it turns on. Very frustrating! On top of that, the outlet pipe in the display tank started siphoning water into the sump. This probably would not have been a big deal if the ATO did not act up. I was not home when this happened. We were down the street at a store. When we got home the carpet was soaked.

My question is, is it a good idea to have your tank on UPS power for when this happens? I was thinking of just putting the ATO and my powerheads on the UPS power. Does anyone do this? If so, how long will it last and on how powerful of a UPS do you have it on?

I would like to put the lights on the UPS too since we have a lot of power blips in my area but that might be a little too much for a UPS to handle.

Thanks for any help!

Dave & Monica
08/19/2013, 01:05 PM
I would think so. An ATO can't consume that much. I doubt you'd need the pump functional. I have a few 12v tunze's, and my networking computer stuff on a Computer UPS. Pumps will run for an hour. Network is so my apex (controller) still sends messages. Apart from this, also have two airpumps that are plugged in and only turn on when the power is off. Good deal for $14 each.

dkeller_nc
08/19/2013, 05:50 PM