PDA

View Full Version : adding sand to existing dt


Tom39
08/19/2013, 09:56 PM
Looking to add a bit of sand to my dt (20-30#). The setup is only 4 months old and the original sandbed has shifted some but mostly settled.
Was thinking of using a funnel, tubing and water to direct the application.
My question is: How much sand can I add on top of my current sandbed without causing issues?

Thanks for looking,
Tom G

MAVX
08/21/2013, 02:01 PM
What I usually do is put rinsed sand in quart size plastic zip lock bags and place them in the sump to get to temperature. Then pull the bags, place them in the DT at the bottom, open them 1 at a time and pour where needed. this method helps to keep cloudiness down and is easier to put the sand where you want it.

Tom39
08/22/2013, 07:05 PM
That's a good idea.Thanks for the hint.

Tom G

starcutter
08/28/2013, 01:57 AM
The main goal is of course to avoid silting the "water column" of your tank and causing stress to your fauna. I always seemed to have the best results by using a PVC pipe about 3-4" wide and 24-30" long. You can get these at Home Depot for low cost.

Slowly press the end of the PVC pipe about 1/2" into your existing substrata. Carefully add sand (about a 1-2 cups worth of sand). Give it about 2-4 minutes to settle then slowly raise the PVC pipe. You will have a small mound of sand that you can either slowly spread out or leave to spread on it's own. I recommend the latter. You'll have to do this many times for 20-30#'s but you won't coat your inverts with silt.

syrinx
08/30/2013, 06:29 PM
MAVX Has it right, Thats by far the best way. I stir the sand in many of my tanks, and have never experienced the stress that starcutter speaks of-in fact the opposite is true.

trae
09/09/2013, 07:30 AM
The old PVC and home made funnel trick. I thought I was the only genius around.

SpartaReef
09/09/2013, 10:36 AM
The old PVC and home made funnel trick. I thought I was the only genius around.

I tried that and failed miserably, kept getting clogged.

klwheat
09/09/2013, 12:38 PM
I tried that and failed miserably, kept getting clogged.

Bigger funnel or PVC, and smaller amounts of sand :)

Salty Dog24
10/28/2013, 01:50 PM
I am also wanting to add more sand to my existing sb, but wondering if i should buy the wet Live Sand, or Dry? Any advice? The tank is 7 months old, and i siphon the sb weekly with water changes, unfortunately, i need to improve my hose control, cause i have sucked up a lot of sand in 7 mo.

capt.cocktail
10/28/2013, 05:10 PM
I actually used a bowl , wet sand and sunk it very slowly, the sand is heavier than water so most of it stays in the bowl , now im thinkin the tubetrick my be better.

Gundo5000
10/29/2013, 01:51 PM
I actually used a bowl , wet sand and sunk it very slowly, the sand is heavier than water so most of it stays in the bowl , now im thinkin the tubetrick my be better.

This is exactly what I was going to reccomend you do! Works great!