PDA

View Full Version : Diatoms or Dino killing Chaeto??

easperhe
08/28/2013, 03:20 AM
All,

I'm a rookie and have my 90 gallon tank running now for ~2 months. I did not light during the cycle and have had no algae of any kind. After the cycle, I replaced all water (RO/DI) to get rid of nutrients that built up during cycle. I added 2 clownfish a week ago. I just got LED light for display but haven't turned it on yet.

I started to light my fuge (both 5000K LED and then 6500K CFL) to try and get newly bought Chaeto to grow. I have pretty good nutrient values already. But, I figured I would try and lower NO3/PO4 some and I thought Chaeto would live on low nutrients:

NO3: 1.5 ppm
PO4: 0.12 ppm

Chaeto looked ok at first but now is dying off. Where the Chaeto was dying the most, there is brown stuff on the rocks. Seems like brown stuff is out competing the Chaeto. There are little air bubbles too. Is this diatoms or dino?

dppitone
08/28/2013, 04:48 AM
Doing a 100% water change is pretty radical. The water is teaming with good bacteria after you cycle it so you removed it all. That's not a method I've ever heard of or experienced so I can only guess on what effect that would have. As far as your macros dying - that's a symptom of a problem they're having with the system. It's hard to say what it is without knowing more, but generally speaking I'd say just try again with them in another month after the system matures some more. Macros fill a need and you may not have that need yet with only two clowns in there.

easperhe
09/01/2013, 12:58 PM
Doing a 100% water change is pretty radical. The water is teaming with good bacteria after you cycle it so you removed it all. That's not a method I've ever heard of or experienced so I can only guess on what effect that would have.