PDA

View Full Version : Advice Please

Pickles07
08/28/2013, 02:48 PM
Hey everyone, I'm new to reef central and also new to the marine world of fishkeeping. I recently bought a Marine Nano bio reef. Have added the live sand, salted RO water and live rock. The live rock has been in for 5 days. I have been testing the water daily. Didn't really notice a spike in the ammonia or nitrite however the nitrate seems a little on the high side. Is this normal, I think that the water change is due in the next couple of days. Is it best to do this earlier rather than later to protect the critters etc in the live rock. I have noticed lots of little worms, bristle stars, mini star fish, feather dusters and some glove coral. I have also noticed some flat worms and have read that they can be a nuisance, would you recommend a 6 line wrasse as one of the first fish introductions to keep these under control. Obviously after the clean up crew have gone in first. The tank is 94L but would guess that it is more like 70L when you consider the filter and live rock. I am looking for a stocking recommendation. Could you please advise on clean up crew members, fish, and soft corals good for adding fr a beginner that have a good survival rate and when would be best to add at which point.

Cheers, Christian

terrypercula
08/28/2013, 05:26 PM