PDA

View Full Version : Dosing or buy Reef Ready Salt?

fltekdiver
09/12/2013, 08:05 PM
I'm new to the hobby, and in the process of cycling a 180

I've heard a couple of friends say. They crashed their tanks dosing

When I start to stock corals, it will be easy stuff like LPS

I don't want anything that will be high maintenance until my tank stabilizes and I know more about the hobby. And have the experience

Is Reef Ready Salts ok for LPS ?

I currently use Instant Ocean, but the cheaper version, not the reef ready mix, because I figured it will be. Few months before adding LPS

Should I consider a dosing pump down the road?

What causes a tank to crash from dosing ? And what crashes, all the coral?

blanden.adam
09/12/2013, 08:39 PM
So there are a few questions within your question that I think need addressing, let me know if I miss any of them.

1) Which reef salt should I use?

IMO, almost all of them are suitable for keeping a reef, and the decision regarding which one to use really comes down to cost, availability, and personal preference. Regular old IO that you are currently using is perfectly capable of supporting a reef. The Reef Crystals version (the "reef ready" salt I think you are referring to) has some EDTA, some extra organics, and allegedly some extra calcium and alk. Other brands use more alk and cal, some reportedly mix clearer, etc, but in the end, for the most part, I really don't think it matters what you use.

2) What is all this dosing business?