PDA

View Full Version : Wierd phosphate readings

jasonburge1990
09/20/2013, 01:45 PM
Hi everyone! I am new to the marine aquarium hobby Yes I fell victim to New Tank Syndrome. I started out with a 10 gallon bow front fowlr and had that tank running for about 5 months. It had a pep shrimp, 5 hermits and a clown fish and all did well.

Then I upgraded to a 60 gal. tank. due to my impatience of the nitrogen cycle, about right after the first week into running my new 60 gal. tank to develop beneficial bacteria, I added all my live stock and some of my base and live rock.

The begining of the 2nd week, I added some new livestock, 10 hermits, emerald crab, and cleaner shrimp. (basic clean-up crew) :headwalls:. I didnt test my water to see how far along my cycle was at in the ammonia-to-nitrite stage at that time.

3rd week all my animals were doing good though. No signs of ammonia poisoning? I had to give my clown fish back to my brother (He needed me to keep it so I babysat him). These next additions is what I think is stalling my cycle, besides me adding livestock so early, I added 5 blue chromis. My Remora C protein skimmer also came in and I ran it in my tank to for a while and got some green skimate over the couse of running it after break in.

4th week to the present day, I added a frag of galxia and a frag of star polyps. I started testing my perams for the phosphates to see where I was. I am constantly reading flucuations in Ammonia anywhere from .50 to 2, but it never exeeds 2 for some reason and never goes below .5!? :( And my nitrites and nitrates are always zero everytime I test. :confused: To help my critters deal with my epic fail, I dose Prime once every week to convert it to ammonium and they have survived because of that and I do 25-30% water changes every week. All my livestock is still alive. here are my tank specs.

60 gallon:
-aquarium size: 48" L x 12" W x 24" H (flat front)
-heater: 200w fluval (I always keep at 78 F)