PDA

View Full Version : Drinking water


NH Fish
09/22/2013, 07:29 PM
I would like to set up a RODI unit just for drinking water. I have a well if that matters. Don't have great water pressure. I have a booster pump on my fish tank rodi. Don't know if I need it for the drinking water unit. Can you hook me up with something
Thanks
Dave

Buckeye Hydro
09/23/2013, 04:53 AM
You have a couple of options.

Do you want to add a few parts to your existing RODI or do you want an entirely separate unit?

Russ

NH Fish
09/23/2013, 05:37 AM
I would like a seperate unit

jimbob321
09/23/2013, 06:00 AM
you dont need di for drinking water just ro

Buckeye Hydro
09/23/2013, 06:10 AM
Dave - please see our BFS-314 Residential RO System on this page:
http://www.buckeyefieldsupply.com/showproducts.asp?Category=184&Sub=103

Russ

NH Fish
09/23/2013, 07:23 AM
Thanks. Do you think I would need a booster pump kit?

Buckeye Hydro
09/23/2013, 08:16 AM
You told me you have one on your other system, so that means you have low pressure. The membranes in both systems have the same pressure requirements. What is your household water pressure?

Russ

NH Fish
09/24/2013, 07:02 AM
Do I need a holding tank or is that pressure tank used for that?

NH Fish
09/24/2013, 07:09 AM
You told me you have one on your other system, so that means you have low pressure. The membranes in both systems have the same pressure requirements. What is your household water pressure?

Russ

I don't know what the pressure is. What do I need for pressure

Buckeye Hydro
09/24/2013, 07:32 AM
The residential drinking water RO system comes with the only holding tank most people will ever need.

The membrane performance is stated under some standard conditions, including 50 psi water pressure. The system will work all the way down to about 40 psi, but somewhere around 40 psi the performance is so bad that people opt for a booster pump.

Typically, well pumps are controlled by a pressure switch. Commonly these switches turn the pump on when the pressure in your well tank hits 30 psi, and off when it hits 50 psi.

Surely you have a pressure gauge on your existing RO system, no? Just unplug your booster pump temporarily and see what the gauge reads.

Russ

NH Fish
10/01/2013, 07:12 AM
yes my well pump kicks on at 30 and off at 50. Should I use a booster?

Buckeye Hydro
10/01/2013, 07:59 AM
If it were me I would get one, yes. Half of the time your system is operating between 30 and 40 psi - that just doesn't cut it for most people.

If you want to get one, might be best if you called in to make sure you get everything you need in one order. In addition to the pump think about (and we can discuss) how to control the pump (turn it off and on - manually or automatically) and how to control your waste water flow.

Russ