PDA

View Full Version : Which setup is best (Hydra vs Radion G2)

All Seas
09/23/2013, 02:32 AM
Hey guys,

Just finished setting up my 90 standard (24 deep) and I am looking for a lighting and controller setup. I am using an mp40, tunze ato, and a marineland return pump.

I am looking to keep a mixed reef. I originally wasnt looking at either of these two lighting setups since I wanted a stand alone controller. But now I see that both will be elligible in the short future with the apex or reeflink. Right now I only have a a frogspawn and some zoas in my 30 gallon but want to get more in the new tank. Here are the options I was thinking:

Two Radion G2s and use Reef Link to control everything

Two AI Hydras and use Apex as my controller

Or Two G2s with Apex

My lfs is pushing the new Razors but like I said, I like the idea of a centralized controller for everything. I am new to LEDs as well as controllers so what would be the best way for me to go?

Thanks

HurricaneSystem
09/23/2013, 06:38 AM
Two G2's with Apex, Reef link when it comes out and is available. The Hydra will not compete with the Radions, trust me.

All Seas
09/23/2013, 10:22 AM
Two G2's with Apex, Reef link when it comes out and is available. The Hydra will not compete with the Radions, trust me.

So your saying reef link will be better than apex when it's available? If that's the case I will just hold off.

The radion g2s are now 550 each so the lights will cost me 300 more over the hydras. Is it worth it?

HurricaneSystem
09/23/2013, 10:48 AM
Yes, it is definitely worth it. I don't know about the reef link being better, it is not released yet.

However, the software that you program the Radions with, is free and you will not need an Apex to do that. You can turn them off, ramp down, etc. by programming them with your computer. Again, free with the lights.