PDA

View Full Version : Looking for some LED lighting advice!

Reef Man Dan
10/03/2013, 02:45 PM
Hey guys!

Fairly new to the hobby, but through a lot of research and a bit of experience I'm quite confident. I've been building a Fluval Edge 12g, drilled with sump, etc. and am just finishing up the plumbing. Now comes the lighting issue ... the light comes with a 42 LED @7,600k and looks terrible, perhaps it'll make a nice fuge light later on.

I've been looking at lights, and I really want to find something that fits into the stock hood. Enter the AI Nano .... powerful for the size, fits in the hood yadda yadda. The question is ... can someone with experience with this light weigh in here. Is it worth the price tag (I'm a grad student so this is a wallet buster), or are there alternative out there that have good control, good lighting, PAR etc etc.

I'd love to here any and all opinions. Thanks guys.

P.S. once my project is done, I will be doing a build thread, so look for that in the next month.

rocsec1
10/03/2013, 04:03 PM
Take a look at rapidled, they may have a retro kit for that tank. If not they have solderless kits that are really easy to use.

bmanzie
10/03/2013, 04:33 PM
I have rapid led Dimmable onyx for sale. It is only 5 months old.

nanoreefer1000
10/03/2013, 06:29 PM
DIY, look into stevesleds and ledgroupbuy

Snaredrum
10/03/2013, 07:31 PM
Just did the Steves LEDs with a Typhon controller. Like it alot.

Send from a Samsung 4S using Tapatalk

zachts
10/03/2013, 10:07 PM
for nano tanks your best bet is to use either a DIM 4 and 12 LEDs at 500mA or use a Typon(arduion based) controller to run something like the LDD drivers for a bit more power and similar multi-channel controll.

DIM4 plus power supply and LEDs and heatsink is probably the cheapest but might not be quite enough for light demanding SPS, otherwise plenty in a 12 gallon.