PDA

View Full Version : New tank setup

mikew351
10/08/2013, 12:37 PM
Hi, i'm new to the hobby and this forum. i have a tank setup that i purchased from a friend who moved and didn't want to risk the fish. its a 95 gallon tank with under gravel and hanging filter systems. my question is what is this: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=8315&pictureid=56728

The system seems to be working but there isn't anything in the tank on the back. as far as i can tell there isn't anything that was in it. my question, is there anything i need to do with it to ensure it is working properly?

mikew351
10/09/2013, 08:02 PM
through a bit more research i have found that it is a fluidized bed filter. my question. do i need it or can i remove it from the system and not have any problems. the setup that i have includes an under gravel filter system with 2 1140 marine land power heads and 2 marine land HOT magnum hang on back canisters on a 95 gallon tank. so far my readings are below.

tank readings
PH 8.4
Nitrate 0
Nitrite 0
Ammonia 0
Temp 78-80
Salinity 1.022-1.023
General hardness 180
Carbonate hardness 240

Waddleboy
10/09/2013, 10:45 PM
First off welcome to a hobby or addiction or life depending on who you talk to but a fascinating one at that. You are correct that tube thing on the back is a media reactor of some sort. Typical used to run media like carbo, gfo, biopellets usually. However i think yours is empty so it is not doing anything.

Now the bad news. You are most likely going need to change the filters with a tank that large. Now some people are able to do it fine but i personally have found that they are detritius factories and cause more problems than good unless you keep up almost daily or at most every 3 day maintenance on them. Also i feel as you dot have enough flow in that tank. but I also like more flow so to each his own. Flow is important for the health of the fish and corals though. Hope that helps and enjoy the hobby

mikew351