PDA

View Full Version : Question about hot pink RBTA

DrewBrees713
10/09/2013, 06:41 PM
I got one from a LFS that was right next to a bigger typical RBTA. Was told that it split. IS that even possible for a RBTA to split to a hot pink?

FlyPenFly
10/09/2013, 06:45 PM
Hot pink sounds like bleached/panic'd rose red IMO but hard to tell without a true picture.

DrewBrees713
10/09/2013, 06:49 PM
It's eating though. ..shrug.

saf1
10/09/2013, 06:54 PM
Hmm, I am no expert but when mine splits it always is the same color. Maybe it is the lights, maybe it is how it works, I really don't know. However, the 3 splits so far are always the same...

Edit: Upper left is the mother / primary. It originally started out about the size of a golf ball. I thought maybe it was starving or in a death spiral. However, it split to the one on the lower left. Recently the top one split again and is mixed on the top although you can't really see it. When they all 3 fully expand the poor 29 gallon bio cube is tapped out in space. Just no room left at all. If I was to do this over I'd never buy one of those again. They are monsters...

DrewBrees713
10/09/2013, 08:46 PM
Saf1

Alot of folks would kill to have your problem LOL

CedzAquAddictio
10/09/2013, 10:06 PM
Ouch. That anenome is definetely bleached.
How long have you had it?
How old is your tank? I'm asking because your rock looks relatively new.
How often does the anenome move around if any movement happens?
Lighting?
Parameters?
How did the other anenomes in the store that you brought them look?

You can probably nurse it back to health, but it'd take some patience, and probably some money depending on the answers above. If I were in your shoes, I'd take it back, and have them explain why they sold me a bleached and possibly sickened anenome after they gave me my money back.

Here's mine. Its the result of a split about 4 months ago. Started out the size of a quarter.
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/10/10/ty6aqaqy.jpg