PDA

View Full Version : Crashed rotifer culture

HowManyClowns
10/09/2013, 11:57 PM
Hi Everyone,

I am new to clownfish breeding and just finished setting up my broodstock tanks this weekend.

So I have had a rotifer culture going for a few weeks and sure enough right when one of my pairs is about to lay their first clutch I have managed to crash it!

Anyway, I am trying to start it again from dormant cysts in the bottom of the crashed culture. I syphoned out all of the water (almost) and tried to leave the stuff on the bottom (per Joyce Wilkerson's book). Filled with fresh SW at 1.014 and I put a light on it and a sponge filter in there as well (which I had in the culture)

I am having second thoughts about the sponge filter, maybe it will suck up the few that hatch?

Any thoughts?

D-Nak
10/10/2013, 12:29 AM
I'd get rid of the sponge filter. Keeping your water quality in check is done with frequent (daily) harvesting/water changes.

_shorty_
10/10/2013, 07:44 AM
What was your maintenance schedule/routine on the culture? I'm trying to learn everything I can. I'd be interested to hear other's advice on how to change that routine in order to better maintain your cultures.

D-Nak
10/10/2013, 10:09 AM
I pretty much just follow the instructions on the RM site, I just have one bucket heated and one not.

http://reedmariculture.com/support_rotifers_culturing.php

HowManyClowns
10/10/2013, 02:50 PM
I think I was maybe overfeeding. I noticed an explosion of rotifers about a few days before the crash. I was harvesting EVERY day 30% + replaced with NSW. I was feeding 2-3ml Rotigrow twice a day.

Also added Amquel plus every few days

HowManyClowns
10/10/2013, 02:51 PM
What about syphoning off detritus from the bottom, how often should I be doing that?

HowManyClowns
10/10/2013, 03:50 PM
That could be another reason, I was pulling out jugs instead of siphoning every day

D-Nak
10/10/2013, 04:02 PM