PDA

View Full Version : SPS Frag System – Sump Required

tdb320reef
10/11/2013, 06:52 AM
Background
Question – I set up a is Isolated frag system with a 150G Rubbermaid Tub some Egg Crate. I built a PVC frame to keep the egg crate stable on the top tier of the tub. At the bottom I have about 50 lbs of dry rock and macro algae. I have a bubble master 200 skimmer that sits on the top and keeps it in about 8” deep water and works perfectly. For flow I have two Jebao WP40s. In this system I have about 300 frags and 1 purple tang. The phosphates started to creep and I installed a BRS GFO reactor and that has solved that issue. I top off with a float switch and dose two part on dosing pumps.

I picked up a 30 gallon sump, Eshopp overflow and little giant pump. The plan is to hook it up on the tub and move the skimmer to the sump maybe put some more rock. The question is it required? The frag tub has been up about two months is doing well as is. Is there any long term advantages or just wasted energy?

http://images.cpucs.com/images/fragtub.jpg

firebirdude
10/11/2013, 07:46 AM
I think you already know that it's not required. A sump just allows us to keep the ugly equipment out of the display (skimmer, heater, float switches, probes, reactors, etc etc etc). Since this is a frag setup, who cares what it looks like. Secondly, you've already got everything dialed in and it's doing well. Leave it alone. :)

tdb320reef
10/11/2013, 08:31 AM
I think you already know that it's not required. A sump just allows us to keep the ugly equipment out of the display (skimmer, heater, float switches, probes, reactors, etc etc etc). Since this is a frag setup, who cares what it looks like. Secondly, you've already got everything dialed in and it's doing well. Leave it alone. :)

Thanks, Yes I know it is not required so let me word it in a different way any other advantages other than a depository for unsightly equipment such as aeration etc.

animalkingdom
10/11/2013, 08:35 AM