PDA

View Full Version : Painting Like Store Bought

MattM3
10/15/2013, 10:14 PM
Hi guys,

I have this canopy that is obviously store bought. I'm doing a few modifications, and would like to match the paint color and texture to the rest of the canopy. How and what do I do/use to go about doing this. It's obviously not latex, and I don't think it is a stain. I'm not very experienced at painting. Is it some type of spray paint? Thanks for the advice!

http://i.imgur.com/J3WTzBe.jpg

Mules1
10/16/2013, 05:13 AM
Looks like black stain to me (with semigloss sealer)

thereeftank
10/16/2013, 06:12 AM
+1 on the stain and not paint.

satin finish

MattM3
10/16/2013, 06:24 AM
Is there a difference between a sealer and a finish?

woodnaquanut
10/16/2013, 07:10 AM
I agree with the others. Stain (or dye) because I can see grain. Paint is opaque.

Sealer might be the wrong technical term. Probably a clear coat finish. What finish will be hard to tell from pics.

Matching the existing is really hard depending on how critical you are. Do you have access to a woodworking store like Rockler or Woodcraft? They will have lots of stains and dyes to help you get at least close to a match.

If no WW store, look for a professional paint store. Very last choice would be one of the big box stores.

Be sure to test whatever you choose on a scrap. Take the tests completely thru the process all the way to final finish because things look different after finish coats.

jlanger
10/16/2013, 02:36 PM
Another possible finish is black lacquer.
If you have access to a professional paint store (Sherwin Williams), ask them to mix it for you.
I believe you can get this in flat/satin/gloss finishes. I always use a satin finish.

I have used it on many projects with great results.
A HVLP sprayer would give you the best finish, but it can also be brushed on.