PDA

View Full Version : How to tell if the LED optics are going bad

Jyetman
10/19/2013, 04:26 PM
I have a Maxspect Razor 160 Watt I bought almost a year ago. For about 8 months I've ran them at A:75 B:90 but for the last several months bumped it up to A:85 B:98 and am worried the optics might go bad sooner. Is this a myth or do the razors have improved optics? What are the warning signs to look for?

mixedreefjunky
10/19/2013, 04:44 PM
I am no expert but why would your optics go bad at all other then from salt buildup (which would be your own fault). If their burning up, well then that's just poor manufacturing of your optics. Optics are very cheap from a multitude of websites. If you are experiencing one of these problems I would just buy all new optics, maybe even try different degree optics i.e. 40, 60, 80, 90, 120, or none at all if your fixture is high enough. Take one of your optics off and check if it is crystal clear, if not you do have an issue.

Wmich2008
10/19/2013, 04:50 PM
Optics won't go bad unless you somehow melt them. Are you asking if your leds may burn out sooner?

Jyetman
10/19/2013, 05:10 PM
Yes all the optics are in good shape there just hot to touch. I've read some 3 watt versions go bad earlier especially in the older Maxspect models but Razors use the newest Cree brand which are suppose to be better?

Wmich2008
10/19/2013, 05:23 PM
It seems like you are mixing optics with the actual leds. I may be just misunderstanding the question though. Leds will be warm to the touch but they will not burn out all that fast. No one really knows how long they will last.

Jyetman
10/19/2013, 05:31 PM
What about the LEDs themselves will running them near 100 percent reduce the life? I've read many who warn not to run them at 100 percent because they eventually blow out which concerns me. I've had a large fan from day one blowing across the unit to help reduce heat hoping this will extend the life. The two built in fans have never turned on.

mixedreefjunky