PDA

View Full Version : Coral Disease

mousefish
10/22/2013, 10:20 PM
I have been keeping marine aquaria for more than 20 years and have occasionally had problems with marine disease but never to this current extent. Over the past two years, I have periods where some of my montipora species are affected with an RTN type condition, but they have always grown back. In the last 6 months however, something has been affecting multiple types of corals in the tank including Acropora, Duncanopsammia, Blastomussa, Caulastra, and Favia species. Nearly every coral in the tank has stopped growing but the fish seem unaffected. Other inverts such as shrimp, snails, isopods, etc... all seem fine as well. I strongly suspect a viral or bacterial infection but there may also be an overlooked water quality issue (however, all my basic water parameter checks have been good). The reason I suspect bacteria or virus is that my system also has an in-line 30 gallon refugium, a 55 gallon live rock tank, and 40 gallon sump. In the refugium and live rock tank some corals are growing under compact fluorescent lighting and appear unaffected, but some other species (montiporas) are dying in both the display and other tanks. I have not yet checked for heavy metals or copper. I suspect that if this was problem, the other inverts such as hermit crabs would have shown signs of stress.

System Parameters:

DISPLAY TANK (set up x 4 years)
180 gallon display tank with 120 3W CREE DIY white and royal blue LED lighting
2X Tunze Stream 6100's
1x titanium grounding probe
All monitored by Aquacontroller Pro (temp, pH, ORP)
4" sand bed
Mixture of live rock
Fish: 2 x blue tangs, 1 x sohal tang, 1 x 6 line wrasse, 1 x flame hawk, 2 x oscellaris clownfish, 1 x chevron tang
Coral: Montipora, Favia, Acropora, Blastomussa, Cyphastrea, Duncanopsammia, Pocillopora
Inverts: trochus snails, cleaner shrimp, red leg and blue leg hermits. Lots of hitchhiking brittle stars and asterina starfish