PDA

View Full Version : inbred clowns?

tidepoole
10/23/2013, 11:51 PM
So I have been setting up a clown/neme tank for about 6 months now, and decided to get the fish first since my LFS has tank raised ocellaris. They had the mom and dad there in the store also, but I bought two of the kids. Is there a chance one of them will turn female and I end up with banjo playin, inbred clowns? Cause that is awkward even for someone who grew up in tennessee :)

Azedenkae
10/24/2013, 01:34 AM
Yes, there is a chance that they'll pair up and breed.

Doubt they'll end up playing the banjo though. For all the hype about inbred fish and playing banjos, it's not really that common. It does happen, but well, yeah. Chances are they'll playthe guitar.

D-Nak
10/24/2013, 10:22 AM
Definitely harmonica though. Just keep that in mind.

In all seriousness though, your clowns will most likely pair up. If tank conditions are optimal, it's common for clowns to breed. Not really an issue unless you plan to breed them.

deangelr
10/25/2013, 07:28 AM
'Finding Nemo' Would have been a weird movie if they stuck to reality..

phender
10/25/2013, 12:38 PM
From what I understand, inbreeding your clowns will not be a problem unless you inbreed them for about 8 generations.

tidepoole
10/25/2013, 11:46 PM
Nemo was an only child (after the "incedent"), but I'm starting to wonder where that little fin really came from. Maybe marlin fell for one of his brothers...er...sister? And phender, I play all the above mentioned instruments, you're making me thing my family tree has less forks than I thought! lol

Jeff000
10/25/2013, 11:51 PM
Inbreeding is how most of these morphs happen.

Azedenkae
10/26/2013, 02:34 AM
Inbreeding is how most of these morphs happen.

Lol, no. Crossbreeding is how most of these morphs happened. >. <" Different color/pattern morphs were obtained and crossed to produce more morphs. :)