PDA

View Full Version : Buying dry base rock off craigslist


acidflea
11/06/2013, 03:53 PM
Any issues with buying dry base rock off craigslist? Any concerns? It is dry and sitting on a concrete floor in the picture. He said it came out of a tank a few years ago.

Thanks

acidflea
11/06/2013, 04:56 PM
Here are pics

http://images.craigslist.org/00Q0Q_cBNk9IHR2KO_600x450.jpg

http://images.craigslist.org/00303_69HyKBQVXzD_600x450.jpg

NewOne81
11/06/2013, 05:10 PM
probably not but depending on the health of the tank it came out of i would be a little concerned about it fueling phosphates in your tank. Maybe be a good bleaching and acid bath to be on the safe side

acidflea
11/06/2013, 05:15 PM
probably not but depending on the health of the tank it came out of i would be a little concerned about it fueling phosphates in your tank. Maybe be a good bleaching and acid bath to be on the safe side

Ok thanks. I forgot to mention that it will be going into a 125 that I will be setting up soon.

NewOne81
11/06/2013, 05:17 PM
Also was it in a reef tank? Or was it a fowlr tank, if it was a fowlr tank id ask about any meds being used. Hope that helps ya

acidflea
11/06/2013, 05:23 PM
Also was it in a reef tank? Or was it a fowlr tank, if it was a fowlr tank id ask about any meds being used. Hope that helps ya

Any way to use it if he did use meds that are not good for reef?

NewOne81
11/06/2013, 05:48 PM
Honestly im not sure how it would effect the rock. I would be concerned about meds along the lines of copper. Im not sure if acid etching the rock would remove that. Guess it depends how much it penetrates the rock. Im sure theres an expert on here that could provide more insight

NewOne81
11/06/2013, 05:56 PM
If meds were used depending on what they were id probably pass on the rock. Its easy enough to get some good rock, why deal with the future headache and loss that could drive you crazy and eventually out of the hobby

acidflea
11/06/2013, 07:04 PM
He stated it was a reef tank and no meds used in the tank

NewOne81
11/06/2013, 07:14 PM
Sounds good then. I'd still give the rock a good cleaning

nmbeg
11/07/2013, 12:48 AM
How does one bleach and/or acid old rock?

DudeDah
11/14/2013, 08:34 PM
How does one bleach and/or acid old rock?

Heres a thread I used for instructions recently:
http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1914426

acidflea
01/16/2014, 04:12 PM
I spoke to the guy when I went to go look at it to purchase and he said he purchased on craigslist and didnt use all of it in the tank he setup. He said he was going to start a second tank but ended up not having time and money.

After purchasing it I bleached some in a container with a power head for about 24 hours. Then i ran with just water and powerhead for about 24 hours. I let it sit out in the sun the next day for a few hours then brought it in the garage since it was about to snow and let it dry out. That was a couple weeks ago. What is the best way to test to make sure the rock is ok to use?

Thanks

tkeracer619
01/16/2014, 06:00 PM
Cure it in saltwater. After a few water changes test for phosphate, if its high you can remove the phosphates.

After being in the tub for a few weeks without a water change test for copper. If any shows the rock is likely done. If it doesn't test for copper its likely good.

acidflea
01/17/2014, 08:58 AM
Cure it in saltwater. After a few water changes test for phosphate, if its high you can remove the phosphates.

After being in the tub for a few weeks without a water change test for copper. If any shows the rock is likely done. If it doesn't test for copper its likely good.

What does everyone suggest to start the curing process?

Thanks

EddieJ
01/17/2014, 09:04 AM
Dose a little bit of straight ammonia. If you want to speed the process you can add some bottles bacteria such as SeaChem Stability, Cycle or MicroBater7..There are many to chose from. No matter what it will take some time to build up the bacteria. When ammonia reads 0, add some more.

arnoldrew
01/17/2014, 11:39 AM
Cure it in saltwater. After a few water changes test for phosphate, if its high you can remove the phosphates.

After being in the tub for a few weeks without a water change test for copper. If any shows the rock is likely done. If it doesn't test for copper its likely good.

Why test for copper if it's good either way?

pkirby
01/17/2014, 04:00 PM
I'd test for copper first... If copper then don't use it.

acidflea
01/19/2014, 06:58 PM
Can I just let it soak in rodi and test for copper a day or two later? If no copper start the curing in saltwater?

pkirby
01/20/2014, 08:49 AM
I would soak in rodi for at least a week and then test. If you know for a fact that the person you purchased the rock from was using the rock in a reef and/or kept invertebrates, you should be fine... as copper treatments would have killed off invertebrates and/or coral... but if the individual was running fish only, he could have easily treated fish disease with copper and contaminated the rock.

acidflea
01/20/2014, 05:16 PM
The rock has been placed in a brute can with RODI water and a power head. Hope for the best.

Thanks

acidflea
01/28/2014, 03:34 PM
The rock has been placed in a brute can with RODI water and a power head. Hope for the best.

Thanks

Going to test the water when I get home in a few hours. Hopefully no copper or phosphates.

acidflea
01/28/2014, 05:17 PM
I just tested the water and copper=0 and phosphates were .25 I guess. I am using an API saltwater phosphate kit. It wasn't yellow so not 0 but a very light green.

Now to decide how to start the curing. I have a 12gal nano that I could take a little live rock from and use that. How much rock would I need if I decided to use live rock that I currently have already?

Brew132
01/28/2014, 06:36 PM
I think that's a very subjective question, I've successfully used half old rock to seed the new rock.

acidflea
01/28/2014, 08:10 PM
Rock is still in RODI water in a brute can. Guess it is time to add some salt and then get some live rock to put in to seed. I have a friend that is going to give me some live rock to use to seed the dead rock.

Any suggestions?

acidflea
01/29/2014, 10:12 AM
I did do some more water testing last night (results below) before adding a little salt this morning before work. Will check salt level after work and add more since I dont think I added enough. After I get the salt level where it needs to be I will get with my friend and get a little live rock and a cup of sand. Depending on how much rock I get I might take a few pieces from my nano since I could use the room in that tank anyway.

Nitrite = 0
Nitrate = 0
Ammonia = 1


Any opinions or suggestions?

Thanks

acidflea
01/30/2014, 07:42 PM
Do I need to have any light on the rock during this process?

acidflea
01/31/2014, 09:00 AM
Do I need to have any light on the rock during this process?

anyone?

acidflea
01/31/2014, 02:41 PM
bump

acidflea
01/31/2014, 04:32 PM
Had another question to go along with the light question. If i get some sand out of a running tank to add with the live rock should I put it in a media bag to keep the sand together? Will the sand even help anything?

Thanks

arnoldrew
01/31/2014, 05:00 PM
Do I need to have any light on the rock during this process?

No. Light will only make algae grow.

Had another question to go along with the light question. If i get some sand out of a running tank to add with the live rock should I put it in a media bag to keep the sand together? Will the sand even help anything?

Thanks

I don't see how it would hurt, but I don't think it would help much.

acidflea
01/31/2014, 06:10 PM
ok thanks for the info..:thumbsup:

acidflea
01/31/2014, 06:13 PM
I did do some more water testing last night (results below) before adding a little salt this morning before work. Will check salt level after work and add more since I dont think I added enough. After I get the salt level where it needs to be I will get with my friend and get a little live rock and a cup of sand. Depending on how much rock I get I might take a few pieces from my nano since I could use the room in that tank anyway.

Nitrite = 0
Nitrate = 0
Ammonia = 1


Any opinions or suggestions?

Thanks

Just tested the water again today. Ammonia is rising. Have not added any live rock or anything yet. Still just the old rock that I bleached and now have in saltwater with heater and powerhead.

Nitrite = 0
Nitrate = 0
Ammonia = 2 or 4?

acidflea
02/01/2014, 12:10 PM
Just added some live rock in with the old rock. The wait continues

acidflea
02/06/2014, 05:59 PM
Just tested the water again today. Ammonia reading looked almost blue so I think that is 5.

Nitrite = 0
Nitrate = 0
Ammonia = 5?

acidflea
02/08/2014, 10:58 AM
Added another 50lbs of dry rock from reefrocks on Thursday night.

acidflea
02/09/2014, 04:06 PM
Just tested the water again today. Looks like we are moving along. :D

Nitrite = .25
Nitrate = 0
Ammonia = 2

acidflea
02/15/2014, 01:18 PM
Just tested the water.

Nitrite = 2 or 5 hard to tell but it was bright purple
Nitrate = 80 I guess. It was really red
Ammonia = .5
Phosphate = .25 maybe. It was just slight green almost looked clear.

acidflea
02/22/2014, 10:37 AM
Just tested the water.

Nitrite = 0
Nitrate = 5 or 10?
Ammonia = 0 or .5?
Phosphate = 0 or .25 maybe. It was just slight green almost looked clear.