PDA

View Full Version : Water Change


robert s b.
11/08/2013, 09:15 PM
Do you guys take the water out from the Main Display or the Sump when doing water changes.

I would like to tee off from my return pump and drain my sump and have the pipe drain to the Laundry room drain.

Reef Frog
11/08/2013, 09:22 PM
It can be done both ways. Siphoning from the tank allows you to suck out detritus when it accumulates. Your plan would work I guess but if you have soft plumbing & may prove to be a weak point.

Sethjamto
11/08/2013, 09:30 PM
In my current 90g I siphon from the display. In my 300g build I'm doing, I'll have a T off my CL pump with a valve that will pump right to my sink drain.

treetopflyn
11/08/2013, 09:35 PM
I siphon of sump allowing me to suck out detritus when it accumulates.

robert s b.
11/08/2013, 10:11 PM
In my current 90g I siphon from the display. In my 300g build I'm doing, I'll have a T off my CL pump with a valve that will pump right to my sink drain.

This is exactly what I want to do. You have a build thread?

malcojo
11/09/2013, 12:57 AM
I use a perstaltic pump, cole parmer, pump out of my filter sock to my sink drain. Then pump back in the return section of sump. Continuous water change