PDA

View Full Version : Apex controller , questions from a newbies

machodik
11/09/2013, 06:22 PM
Dear All,

After some advises got from here and most specially from my good Buddy, I have decided to buy the apex controller and I choose the Lab grade, yes its the most expensive one, as I think the PH probe is more durable and considering the distance where i live, so to safe constantly replacing the probe so, I just took this one.

Anyway, I am really totally new with Apex, the main reason for me to buy a controller as I am going to set up a calcium reactor ( I also ordered thru my friend, the one that mostly recomend to me here , the aquarium plant co2 eletric carbon doser), so my questions about using APEX ,here are as follows;

"Should I have to buy an extra PH proble that I am going to put it into my calcium reactor inorder to comand my regulator if need to add or not any co2?"

hope to hear some advises from you guys!

By the way, this time is a big "renovation" with my tank, I am also going to change My metal Halides with 2 kessil A360W.

big spenditure indeed this time.

Cheers,

Mark Bianco
11/09/2013, 07:24 PM
I have an Apex and a calcium reactor. I put a probe in each the sump and the reactor and although interesting the use of a probe inside the reactor is for the most part worthless. What the ph in your reactor is not going to be the same as in your sump or tank. I use the ph reading or the sump probe to control / turn off the co2 to the reactor..

James77
11/09/2013, 07:29 PM
The pH probe in the reactor is a good way to catch a possible CO2 dump, but that is very unlikely with the aquarium plants regulator...they are rock solid. It couldn't hurt to have one on your tank as well....BRS selss very good ones for about $25. they also sell kessils ;)

machodik
11/10/2013, 02:03 AM
Thanks for your kind advises.

Ok, I will put both sump and reactor each with ph probe.