PDA

View Full Version : Question for people who run their tanks without sumps


Shellyfish
11/10/2013, 09:58 PM
Do you use some sort of HOB or canister filter? I've been running mine with an XP3 for the past 2 years, but it's a pain. Everytime I clean the darn thing I have nothing but trouble getting it going again. I'm thinking of doing away with it. I'm just wondering other people's opinions/experiences.

Thanks!

The sculpin
11/10/2013, 10:02 PM
I use a aquamax hob skimmer still need to clean once a month but works really well.

Drae
11/10/2013, 10:40 PM
Get an AquaClear hob filter and do away with the can. I run an AquaClear 70 and an aquamaxx hob1 on a 40 long and my water stays crystal clear and the tank is stable. I would get the biggest Model AquaClear they make though no matter what size tank it is. You can mod the flow up or down if need be and turn the AC into a fuge also. Very decent hob filters.

BrandonMason
11/10/2013, 10:43 PM
I don't run a canister... sump is for sure the way to go but if I had no choice but to run a canister I would dump all the filters in them and run carbon, phosguard, and matrix

Devaji108
11/10/2013, 11:21 PM
I am in the process on a new build a k.i.s.s 40 br AIO...
I will be using a up flow algae turf scrubber in the 1st chamber rock rubble in the 2nd and return in the 3rd.

look in to the upflow ATS just might be the thing you need. there are many ways to have a stable reef. ATS are simple cost effect and they work. but not everyone cup of tea.
there are lots of ATS build out there up the up flow ATS (UAS) are pretty small and clean. there are sticky threads on ATS in the advanced topic. also google Santa Monica filtration.

good luck!

sczlars
11/11/2013, 01:17 AM
I run a 40G breeder. Used to be a 20 standard until last month. No sump. Vortechs for movement, and an Aquamaxx HOB skimmer. I used to also have an AquaClear HOB filter, with some rock rubble or sometimes carbon/floss in it.

Now without the AquaClear I'm getting surface film on the water, as I don't have that surface-breaking waterfall anymore, and no sort of surface skimmer. I'm thinking of putting it back.

No problem doing this without a sump. The HOB skimmer, pumps and 2 heaters are all toward the back (peninsula setup), and I'm not bothered by that minimal gear in the tank.

--Lars

AFK1911
11/11/2013, 07:00 AM
I just set up my 36 gallon bow a few weeks ago. I am running an Aquaclear 70 HOB filter running the sponge, carbon, a Phosguard. I clean it out every Friday along with the Aqua C Remora S skimmer with MJ1200 pump. Seems to work so far.

Shellyfish
11/11/2013, 09:17 AM
The way this tank is built, an aquaclear is not an option (which it too bad, they are my favorite filter), there is also no way to put a sump underneath or to add an overflow, so sadly a canister is my only option. I've been running it with rubble and purigen for over 2 years with great results, but everytime I have to shut it off to do something with it, I can't get the darn thing going again!! I"m also not sure if the amount of rubble it holds really makes a huge difference or not.

Shellyfish
11/11/2013, 11:05 AM
I'm wondering if one of the tunze internal filters would be better? Anyone ever used one?

fscmocsaj
11/11/2013, 01:40 PM
You cant use a sump?

fscmocsaj
11/11/2013, 01:47 PM
I personally use a canister filter and it works great for me. I have carbon, purigen, fiber floss and matrix in it. I clean it out once a week takes about 10minutes.

HumbleFish
11/11/2013, 01:47 PM
If you can run a canister, you can run a media reactor (or two) for carbon/GFO. That's all you really need. If you have sufficient LR in the tank and enough circulation, that's your biological filtration.

Devaji108
11/11/2013, 03:04 PM
If you can run a canister, you can run a media reactor (or two) for carbon/GFO. That's all you really need. If you have sufficient LR in the tank and enough circulation, that's your biological filtration.

+1 to this...
this is my back up plan if for some reason my ATS need a lil help.

Shellyfish
11/11/2013, 03:30 PM
I got the darn thing going! I have looked into media reactors, but I don't run carbon at all, tried it once and within 2 days my yellow tang developed HLLE, started to clear up as soon as I stopped it. No, there is no room in the cabinet for a sump, I'm not going to tear the tank apart to drill it and install and overflow, and the way the bracing is, it won't allow for HOB anything.

pontiac
11/11/2013, 03:48 PM
ive been running a rena xp3 and a aquaclear 110 on my 150 gal for years with great results, as long as all the air is out of the intake line before u plug it in it works fine.

nogascans
11/11/2013, 04:21 PM
I run a 90 gallon bow-front tank with no sump. I use a Super Reef Octopus XP-1000S HOB skimmer. For water flow, I use three Korallia Evo 1350 Pumps. I also have an external water pump for GFO and Biopellet reactors that store under tank. I have some programmed pump actions that keep any detritus in flow and gets skimmed out or removed during water change (every 1 1/2 weeks 10 gallons). Tank was started July of 2012, so on month 16ish.

It is a mixed reef, with 10 fish, SPS and LPS. I have attached a picture of skimmer and tank view for reference. N03 at 2ppm, P04 at .06.

Early days skimmer picture:

http://i923.photobucket.com/albums/ad79/hdtvpioneer533hd5/20121124_190041_zps7978282c.jpg (http://s923.photobucket.com/user/hdtvpioneer533hd5/media/20121124_190041_zps7978282c.jpg.html)

Recent Tank View:

http://i923.photobucket.com/albums/ad79/hdtvpioneer533hd5/2093_zps7e855e95.jpg (http://s923.photobucket.com/user/hdtvpioneer533hd5/media/2093_zps7e855e95.jpg.html)



Sincerely,

David

Shellyfish
11/11/2013, 06:20 PM
Very nice tank, I'll have to find a pic of mine. I have the XP3 and a Tunze 9011 plus a few koralias runniing mine

nogascans
11/11/2013, 08:09 PM
Tanks for the compliment. Really wish I had a better camera as android not the best picture taker. Comes down to better camera or more aquarium equipment.

I have to thank this forum and it's members for helping with advice that has allowed me to get to this point.

On a side note, I picked up a 60g cube that I plan on setting up as small DT in Dining Room. I plan on running a sump so that I can hide the skimmer and reactors. Noting against what I did with 90, plus I can add some water volume to smaller ecosystem. Thinking a 20l with drain section, skimmer, and return pump.
I have about 50 lb of live rock I have been storing in a 55 gallon tank for about 5 months and plan on moving this to cube (some of)

Sincerely,

David

Timfish
11/11/2013, 08:26 PM
Sumpless, filterless, skimmerless system:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GFxUSRFRp24

This is essentially a Lee Chin Eng system with some powerheads. Delbeek and Sprung discuss sumpless and pumpless systems among others in their book "The Reef Aquarium" Vol III. It's available on ibooks now.