PDA

View Full Version : Can't seem to shake this HA problem, experts enter

Ntruder
11/13/2013, 11:20 PM
I've been battling Hair Algae for a couple years now across two separate tanks. I have tried virtually everything that has been suggested to me and I'm just stumped.

Every time I post a thread like this, I get lots of generic answers about doing water changes, using RO water, feeding less, etc. I ask of you, please read through all of the equipment and interventions that I already have before posting a generic answer

I'm about 8 years into the saltwater aquarium hobby, and I work in an industry where water chemistry is integral to our business, so I know a thing or two

Here is what I have, the current tank is about 20 months old:

tanks:
-125g display, mostly FOWLER (+1 coral, 1 anemone)
-29 gallon sump w/skimmer and return portion
-20 gallon refugium w/DSB, LR, small chunk of Cheato and some Culerpa strands

DT Livestock:
-150-200 lbs of LR
-Blue Hippo Tang, Yellow Tang, Snowflake Eel, Occelaris Clown, 6-line Wrasse, Coral Beauty Angel, Anemone, plate coral
-15 Turbo snails, ~100 misc snails
-thin (>1") sandbed

Feeding schedule:
-feedings every-other-day, once.
-variety of frozen cubes, cyclopeeze
-feed either 1/2 or 1 full cube, every other day

Salt & water changes:
-Instant Ocean Reef Crystals, mixed to 1.025
-30 gallon water changes approximately every 14-21 days

Other additives:
-Kent Purple Tech (since 8/2013)
-Kent dKH buffer (since 11/2013)
-occasional marine algecide treatments
-occasional Chemiclean treatments

DT Lights:
-84 3 watt Philips Luxeon LED lights
-42 Neutral White, 42 Royal Blue
-Lights run 6:30pm - 2:00am (7.5 hours/day)

Fuge Lights:
-Single incandescent 60watt bulb
-Runs approx 10 hours/day opposite DT lights

Equipment:
-Skimmer: Reef Octopus Diablo XS 160 (http://www.bulkreefsupply.com/reef-octopus-diablo-xs-160-protein-skimmer-1.html)
-GFO reactor
-4 Hydor Koralia fans in DT

Water source: