PDA

View Full Version : An old experienced newbie with questions

Blueyak
11/16/2013, 10:23 AM
I have been a high school biology teacher for many years. 20 years ago and many years before that I had many tanks, both salt and freshwater in my classroom. (Up to 13 tanks at one time) I got out of the habit because students seemed to not be interested anymore and it was costing me a fortune in my own money. This year I have some students that want me to set up a reef tank. I'm trying to decide the best way to go. Years ago nano cubes did not exist and tanks were a ton of work and not self contained at all. I want to be able to keep inverts including corals etc. I don't have hardly any money to do this, I'm starting from scratch and I want to keep maintenance time down. Should I try a nano cube or build my own from scratch? Any one know where I can get a great educator discount? My school has no money. Suggestions?
Thank you for help in advance:fish1:

oscarinw
11/16/2013, 10:29 AM
Best way would be to get tank, skimmer and lights from someone upgrading or leaving the hobby. Craiglist is good for that. As far as what kind of setup, I would probably recommend a 50+ gallon setup with a sump underneath. Many of the things you could DIY but it's also easier to work on than a nano cube.

Blueyak
11/16/2013, 11:55 AM
I have looked at craigslist and have found some pretty appealing deals, some are for tanks already going. I don't know how risky it would be. Also, for every person that says not to get a nanocube I have read 2 posts by people who say they love them. Does anyone on this forum use them?
Thanks!

ajcanale
11/16/2013, 11:57 AM
Best way would be to get tank, skimmer and lights from someone upgrading or leaving the hobby. Craiglist is good for that.

+1, also consider contacting/posting to any local reef clubs.

Amatuer21
11/16/2013, 12:20 PM