PDA

View Full Version : Surprise to me I think I have a pregnant clown

extremeshannon
11/22/2013, 12:20 AM
Hello everyone,
I am new to having clown fish and my wife noticed how fat the female is. She is quit round. I think she maybe pregnant and I don't know where to start. I have a mated pair of ORA Black Ocellaris (Amphiprion ocellaris).

What should I do? I am researching now to figure this out.

D-Nak
11/22/2013, 01:30 AM
Hello everyone,
I am new to having clown fish and my wife noticed how fat the female is. She is quit round. I think she maybe pregnant and I don't know where to start. I have a mated pair of ORA Black Ocellaris (Amphiprion ocellaris).

What should I do? I am researching now to figure this out.

Start by reading threads here:

http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=86

:thumbsup:

I think more clowns are breeding in people's tanks than we think. Getting the female to lay eggs is the easy part. Raising the young, not so much. If you want to do it "right" be prepared to spend quite a bit of time and money to get a breeding and grow-out rack going, which not only includes the tanks with filtration, but also a rotifer culture and possibly phyto cultures, though I think newbies should use RGComplete.

Azedenkae
11/22/2013, 01:31 AM
One thing you can do, which I like to do, is let the fish be. :P If they're a pair and she is 'pregnant' then they'll figure it out. :) My suggestion rather than frantically scurrying around organizing this and that, just watch it all unfold and see what happens. :)

They may not succeed the first time laying eggs and raising their young, but it'd be nice to watch anyways, and eventually they'll succeed.

Just be sure that she is 'pregnant' rather than suffering from some disease. Like bloat.

shifty51008
11/22/2013, 01:35 AM
Have you noticed them picking at ar area around where they hang out? They will usually start cleaning off an area to lay their eggs.