PDA

View Full Version : Returning to the hobby

malupoo
12/11/2013, 08:30 AM
Hi reefcentral,

My Name is Daniel, and I have just recently made my return into the hobby again now I have permanent residence. I have had plenty of fowlr type tank experience in the past keeping mostly predatory species like eels, lionfish and anglers.

I'm still in the planning phase and so wanted to pass a couple of ideas past the community here.

My first option- have a tank built for me. 65x50x45cm ( approx 38 gallons)
And then use 1-2 power heads and a hang on back skimmer.
* this option I like as I can pick and choose my equipment and I have always liked the rimless kind of look.

Option 2-
Pre built all in one aquarium. I can't remember the size but pretty sure it's about 28 gallons. Has all the usual, lighting, behind the tank filter and a small built in skimmer.

* seems like the easy option, it's on special so isn't that expensive. Possible cons of costing more in the long run replacing inferior equipment??

I was initially against the pre built idea but seems a few forums are praising such things now? My how things change in 5 years.

My ideas for stocking the tank is mostly just either a pair of perc or occ clowns. And maybe a goby.

So any help with this would be appreciated. Or even tell me that it won't work and I should just man up and get a sump.

IanWR
12/11/2013, 08:39 AM
A possible third option would be to have an all in one style tank made for you. That way you can make the skimmer chamber as big or small as you like, put your return(s) where you want, have the tank the dimension you want, etc. I've seen some really clean looking setups done this way.

- Ian

fpv930
12/11/2013, 07:33 PM
Welcome Daniel! Once you have the reefing bug it never leaves. lol.

I never liked equipment hanging off my tank. Especially a rimless. I have a 36g bow front right now and dislike it very much with the skimmer popping up from the back of the tank.