PDA

View Full Version : HC GFO & tumbling


xtlosx
12/13/2013, 11:07 AM
I recently switched from regular bulk GFO to HC GFO and have noticed much greater efficiency battling my phosphate issue. It takes a lot more flow to make the top layer of the GFO tumble becuase of the larger granules.

For those of you using BRS HC GFO, are you still tumbling the top layer like with the bulk stuff?

bertoni
12/16/2013, 12:46 AM
I haven't used this product, but maybe someone will add some comments. Keeping a bit of motion might help a bit with efficiency, but I never cared much, although I didn't have a measurable phosphate level in the tank. I was running GFO as a safety net.

Spyderturbo007
12/16/2013, 06:43 AM
I've never used the bulk GFO, but I use HC GFO and you'll want to make sure it tumbles. If not, you'll find yourself with a big hunk of GFO.