PDA

View Full Version : mixing salts

swissgaurd
12/14/2013, 07:41 AM
ive been thinking of the salt mixes we have lately.
I was and still am a fan of RS salt but,the expense and availability here is not the best,the one store franchise that carries it here only orders a few buckets at a time,they only get in the coral pro and not the regular red sea.Tropic marin pro is more available but also very expensive. Ive had to resort to reefcrystals as it is very popular here and the price is a lot more reasonable.Now im a big fan of a stable reef,thats why ive been using redsea salts for 8 or 9 yrs.
so my question is what do you guys think of every water change use a different saltmix.
I was thinking of doing redsea coral pro one week and then reefcrystals the other week.
im presently doing 10% waterchanges every week which is 16 gallons at a time in my 225 gallon tank.(152 total water volume)
I haven't heard of anyone doing this what would be the pros and cons.
thanks
vic

nystang
12/14/2013, 09:08 AM
When I was switching from Red Sea Coral Pro to Instant Ocean, I was mixing both before adding to the RODI but sometimes I was adding just IO, without any ill effects. I don't think that the small difference in trace elements will be noticed by the live organism in our tanks. I use IO now and my corals are happy and everything looks great. Red Sea was just too expensive.

Mr tap water
12/14/2013, 09:13 AM
Hi there
I would think it might upset the stability of your stats I.e. cal ,Mag,kh Etc different brands of salt have different levels of Mag etc so in my opinion I think its best to stick to one brand at a time and if you want to change to another do it gradually

disc1
12/14/2013, 09:19 AM
Depends on how different the levels are and how big of a water change you're doing. If you've got a difference of 3 dkH and you're only doing a 10% water change then you're only changing your tank parameter by 0.3dkH. That's totally acceptable and shouldn't cause any problem.