PDA

View Full Version : botanicare for a propagation system?

cowdust9
12/15/2013, 09:38 AM
hello, was looking into getting a Botanicare hydroponic tray for a prop system but it says it is a made with a few things that im not sure if would be bad or not for the corals

-70% recycled plastic
-U.V. resistant cap
-BPA free

just wanted to know if this would be safe

Thanks

link for tray:
http://www.botanicare.com/Botanicare-4x8-ID-Tray-White-P126C7.aspx

parrthed
12/16/2013, 11:32 AM
Ive used the Botanicare 4x2 white ones for years, you can also find them in black occasionally. I just get mine from th local hydro shop. There is even a nice flat section at one end that you can drill the bottom for a bulkhead.

Ive seen a pre-made "prop system" for sale on some websites that is just a rebadged hydro grow rack with light tree and it appears to have one of these trays as well.

spoggy
12/16/2013, 04:42 PM
I have no direct experience with this but, all plastics "leach" chemicals into whatever touches them (water, air, fingers etc.) Plastics are a petroleum product, and the plasticizers, colorants, reinforcements & stabilizers. Leaching is from the plastic surface, so, basically, leachate will be the stabilizers. One cause of loosening the chemical bond is sunlight (UV) degradation. Once loose they are able to go into the water.
My educated guess is that, because of husbandry practices in coral propagation that involve numerous water changes, levels of leachate never reach toxic levels.

akitareefer
12/18/2013, 10:38 AM
been using these trays with no problems. I recommend th white ones because they are deeper or appear deeper. The black ones have a different shape. Beware on lighting, the tanks are so shallow its easy to put too much light on your corals.

cowdust9
12/29/2013, 04:13 PM
great thanks for the info i really want to get one of these

a.browning
04/28/2014, 08:53 AM