PDA

View Full Version : My 3 month old 8 gal. nano reef

ResCogitans
12/16/2013, 07:05 PM
Hey guys and gals,

I am new to reefkeeping and this forum. I hope to learn from the wealth of experience and expertise that is found on this forum in the hope that it will benefit my tank and the inhabitants unlucky enough to be chosen by me! I have posted a picture of my tank, let me know what you guys think! If you have any questions, do let me know! Thanks and i look forward to getting to know my fellow reefkeepers. I need this because everyone I know cannot stand me talking about this any longer :spin1:

terrypercula
12/16/2013, 07:28 PM
Very nice! Let's get some info on her!

ResCogitans
12/16/2013, 07:45 PM
Thanks Dave!

Here are my most recent results

Salinity: 33ppt
Temp: 76-77F
PH: 8.2 (red sea)
NH4: 0 (API)
N02: 0 (API)
N03:0 (API & Salifert)
PO4: 0 (salifert)
Ca: 425 (red sea)
Ca: 435 (salifert)
Mg: 1560 (red sea)
Mg: 1410 (salifert)
KH: 11 (red sea)

Maintenance regime:
Top-off twice per day (AM & PM)
Weekly 10% W/C with Red Sea Coral Pro salt and change of filter floss (JBL)
0.5g of Salifert Kh/PH buffer after W/C, 1g dose after lights of per day
1.5ml of Red Sea Reef Foundation A in the morning before work
1.5ml of Seachem Reef Plus twice per week to keep trace elements up

Feeding:
mysis shrimp and Fauna Marin LPS pellets for LPS corals
fish WAS fed with Aegis flakes (unfortunately the tank did not have a cover and he jumped a few days ago :confused:)

Livestock:
False clownfish (RIP)
Hammer coral
Torch Coral
R. Yuma
R. Florida
Green star polyps
Candy Cane coral
Striped mushroom coral
Zoanthids

terrypercula
12/16/2013, 07:48 PM
Seems like you have a good routine going. That's a huge plus when keeping any tank FW or SW. Keep up the good work!

ResCogitans
12/16/2013, 07:50 PM
HAHA I forgot about other vital information:

Life Support:

6.6 lbs. live rock
1" bed of live sand