PDA

View Full Version : New to marine

prabhu
01/06/2014, 01:35 AM
Hi Team,

I am new to the marine and I have been cycling the tank for couple of months. had ammonia spike and now it has come down ( close to 0)...but still the algae is there ( refer the attached picture). your advice are welcome...

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-W7V-NxCNE9M/UspajLo_M-I/AAAAAAAAAS4/0GxPIE71V-E/w1271-h715-no/Marine.jpg

Tank details:

2.5x1.25x1.5
Sump separate at the bottom
SA 2014 skimmer
2 X 24 W white lights ( Osram)
2 X 24 W blue lights ( Hopman)
8 - 9 hrs of light
Sand bed in Sump
Wave maker sicce voyager 1
Filter socks
Boyu chiller - 26 C

thanks

-Prabhu

hersheyb
01/06/2014, 02:28 AM
if you still cycling your tank you don't need to have lights on for so long to avoid algea. Are you also doing water changes? and how long have you been cycling?

prabhu
01/06/2014, 02:57 AM
doing cycling for couple of months with lights on..also 10% water changes was done 2 weeks back. did only twice water changes during the cycling

Saltliquid
01/06/2014, 03:34 AM
The algae is growing due to the waste products at the end of the nytrogen cycle like othophosphate,phorphorus and nitrogen.
When the cells of dead tissue get brocken down via oxidation and anoxic nitrate atom sepration, that’s what’s left over and that type of algae feeds on it and grows when lights are on.

thatreefguy22
01/06/2014, 07:30 AM
what water do you use? tap? ro? ro/di? di?

Saltliquid
01/06/2014, 10:51 PM
I use just RO, I did an experiment with the help of my large algae area for over a year with no water changes and just tap top ups,this was to see if it would import all that is in tap water and the bio sinks handling the rest and it worked out fine, but for better easier results, you should use RO, DI its up to you.
I havent seen DI get any betetr resutlts then I do, so I wont go that way.

prabhu
01/06/2014, 11:02 PM
i use RO water....i have a Kent ( water purifier) in my house and it also has RO / UV.