PDA

View Full Version : New Hobbyist build and Questions

rhoule6819
01/08/2014, 09:30 PM
Hey guys,

I am new to Reefcentral as well as to the hobby. My girlfriend and I have decided to start our own Reef Aquarium. I want to use this thread to show my progress from start to finish, as well as a place to ask all my questions. We have a 24"x24"x24" cube. I am currently building the stand and canopy which I hope to be painted this weekend, and will post pics as soon as it is. We are in the process of researching and buying our next few pieces of equipment and needs some suggestions advice.

1) Protein Skimmer - I plan on having a sump underneath the stand (about 20-24" wide as the stand is only 24" wide.) So about 10-20 gallons. I want to house the Skimmer, heater, as well as have a refugium under there. I have been leanding towards one of the Reef Octopus protein skimmers. Anyone have any suggestions on what one to get for that size sump/refugium, or another good brand to look at?

2) Lights- I was initially going to go MH and T5's with some LED moonlights, however I came across the Reef Breeders Photon 24" LED, and really like it. It seems to have good reivews by people who have used it. Do you think this will be fine for our tank or do people suggest going MH's. We are not 100% sure what type of corals we are oging to keep but want a good light so we can keep our options open.

3) Pumps, Fans for water movement, and heaters - I haven't look too much into these yet as I have been looking the skimmers/lights. Anyone have any suggestions on Brands or models that are of a good quality that I can look into.

Thanks for all your help guys. Glad to be a part of this community here

bveister
01/08/2014, 09:31 PM
Can't go wrong with Koralia's for water movement, tried and trusted!

CoralReeForrest
01/08/2014, 10:13 PM
Skimmer I'm not to sure.