PDA

View Full Version : Start up aquaculture business!

jamesedwardnash
01/13/2014, 05:47 PM
Hello all!

So i'm about to take the plunge and start a coral aquaculture farm here in England, UK. I'm now in my last year of a Bsc Biological Science and want to start something that I love and that will have an impact on the worlds reefs. My aim is to supply the EU nations with soft, LPS and SPS corals and later, anemones.

This is my first post, but i've been viewing this site for years and I know there are some among you that have such companies in the US and i'd greatly appreciate your input, as well as those that propagate for their own use at home!

Firstly, what a advise would you give to an aquaculture start up? (this is very general, absolutely all advice is appreciated) Secondly, lighting... I intend to grow demanding SPS, and want to use LED due to the efficiency, the reality is that MH would be to costly to run and T5's aren't a great improvement electricity wise when accounting for the number of tubes required! Frag tanks will be shallow, approximately 5-6 inches. I have a budget and am contemplating various LED light units, the one thats caught my eye is the ReefBreeders Value unit, has anyone had much growth with SPS with these long term? I'd love to see some photographs of everyones tanks also, so feel free to post!

I look forward to hearing from everyone.

James.

borris
01/14/2014, 11:57 AM
Where in England you based

jamesedwardnash
01/14/2014, 12:03 PM
Hi Borris. I'm in Norfolk.

borris
01/14/2014, 12:15 PM