PDA

View Full Version : algae is killing me

saintsnsinners
01/13/2014, 09:33 PM
I've been battling this junk for 2 months. I brush it each week and do a water change, but it keeps coming back. I'm using phosguard and red sea no3po4x. According to my delivery tests, I have 0 phosphates and nitrates. Ivfeedbsparingly and have my day lights on for 8 hours. Did 3 days of lights out which got rid of my cyano, but not this hair algae. Skimming on the wet side. Any suggestions?

saintsnsinners
01/13/2014, 09:34 PM
Oh yeah, even tried 2 sea hares but they both died. Not sure if my hoevens killed them or what. Yellow tang won't touch the stuff.

Crush Coral
01/13/2014, 10:21 PM
You are not alone. from pic i say hair algae. do searches on it and read. blow off your racks and do H2O changes. run go and carbon. pull it daily. if you have a sumptuous grow chaeto or algae scrubber . Change go about every 3 weeks. u Will tell by growth if u went too long. i have been fighting it for a year and seem to be meeting it but the answer seems to be hitting it from all sides. not 1 single thing to do to beet it.

Tangnerd
01/13/2014, 10:45 PM