PDA

View Full Version : Tunze or vortech?

Art13
01/16/2014, 07:01 AM
I'm trying to get my list together for my next tank setup, and i want a turbulent flow, back and forth so the coral gets different directions of flow. sps at the top, lps and some soft at the middle and bottom. I plan on doing minimal aquascaping. If someone has a suggestion on another brand thats fine, i would like all my options here. I was thinking vortech but i also like to keep the view from the side of the tank looking good since its a 24" wide tank. I should probably mention the size too, 135g 48x24x27. I was thinking one mp40 with my two koralia 800gph possibly or two mp40s, or going with two tunze 6095 or 6105s, i would supplement the 6095's with koralia's as the extra where needed. Any advise? Do the just come down to a preference? Any brands i'm not thinking of or different ideas? i haven't used anything but just single speed water circulation pumps at this point, so i'm new to these brands and things. I won't be factoring in the return pump at this point since it will only be to circulate water through the refugium, i won't be getting a high output one to use for flow. My preference would be for the mp40 to put it on the left side where it will be less visible and use two regular pumps on the right and or middle to adjust the flow where needed.

FocusFin
01/16/2014, 07:39 AM
I have a 110 with a 90 gallon footprint and mounted my MP40s on the back of the tank near the top left/right. I too didn't want the sides showing the powerheads.

I have it set to short pulse which creates a front to back wave giving my corals a back and forth motion. I have a 30 inch depth and despite having the powerheads near the top, I still get serious undertow.

I've never used a Tunze so can't comment but the Vortech does everything I could want in a powerhead.

Also, I have mine set at 2/3 speed and it's more than enough so you shouldn't need anything other than two MP40s.