PDA

View Full Version : live rock smell even after reincarnation ?

yusor
01/27/2014, 03:18 AM
After having many problems with my new tank while still cycling ,
I discovered that the reason was live rock .. I doubt that the store should be selling it and I am new to this and didn't realize the amount of dead organisms that was in it until I smelled it in the tank :headwally:

I removed them by hand by using BBQ sticks and common curing process , it did not work to remove the dead organisms and of course the smell ,

reincarnation was the thing to do , I did it ( but not using a pure bleach product , it's 50% bleach because pure bleach is not available for me now)

the result was pleasing as the smell decreased a lot but there's still this fishy egg smell :sad1:

is that normal ? or I should repeat the process ? or filtering and a carbon bag would solve the problem ? :headwalls:

Thank you all for helping me previously , bare with me until I fix it please :)

Blown 346
01/27/2014, 03:22 AM
I would put the rock in a bin, a powerhead and heater crank the heater up. The rock should be in a dark place, if you have a lid for the bin use it to cut down on smell. Cure the rock this way for a few weeks. doing 100 % water changes every 2 days or so. Grab the rock and shake it to remove any die off before each water change. Sounds like you got 100% uncured rock.

yusor
01/27/2014, 09:31 AM
thanks I'll do that, am wondering why dark place ?

yusor
01/27/2014, 09:32 AM
saltwater while curing , right ?

McGarnicle
01/27/2014, 09:37 AM
Yeah use saltwater

Sugar Magnolia
01/27/2014, 09:56 AM