PDA

View Full Version : Buying an established aquarium?

Cesfilly
02/12/2014, 12:35 AM
Hi guys!

I am new to salt water tanks but have had freshwater tanks for several years (I realize there are few similarities). Is there anything wring with buying an established tank from Craig's list? As long as water changes/upkeep is maintained?

How much does it cost (ball park, I know it would vary based on the tank) weekly?

Is there anything else I should know? (Besides investigating fish that come with the aquarium, special needs, etc)

Or is it better to start from scratch. Please no angry comments, if this is a no no, it's why I am asking before doing it :)

bundybear1981
02/12/2014, 01:24 AM
Its a lot of work to move an established tank. Sand will be full of detris, to reuse it would require lots of cleaning (better to start with new sand) you may trigger a new cycle moving it.

Also you could end up with specimens you dont really want/like, or that are beyond you current skill level to care for.
You can score some good deals but make sure you research what you are getting. There is some junk out there. Make sure that copper treatments havent been used on the tank.
My tank costs about au$20 per week to run.
For your first tank I'd say start from scratch, you can build what you want. Learn a lot along the way and build the skills you need.
Sure, use craigslist to get some used equipment. People are always upgrading and you can get some good deals.

SGT_York
02/12/2014, 07:26 AM