PDA

View Full Version : Battling Hair Algae - need advice on GFO & Carbon

Stickboy97
02/24/2014, 04:23 PM
I have been battling a terrible hair algae outbreak for about 9 months now. I took out half my rocks and I'm cooking them in a tub, the other half I take out once a week & scrub them with a brush. I have totally emptied my refugium & rebuilt it.

Now I'm to the point I think I need to add a GFO reactor or maybe carbon (need advice here).

I was wondering. I have 3 canister filters sitting around on a shelf doing nothing. Can I convert one of those into a media reactor?

If so, what do I need to do? I was thinking about using my small eheim 2215 (I also have a 2217) and a bag of carbon or GFO, and trying to filter out some of the phosphates in my tank.

Is this possible? Will it work properly? Should I not put it in a bag (so it tumbles)?

Anyone done this? Pics?

Thanks!!!!!

PS I tried to search but didn't find any examples of what I am thinking about doing.

Pokerman11
02/24/2014, 09:09 PM
Is your phosphate high?

GFO is easy to build a DIY reactor. The key is to get it to 'tumble' just a bit, with a valve to adjust. I do not think it can be done via a media bag. I have a dual reactor GFO, and then with some carbon before the return.

This guy on youtube did a setup with a BRS duel reactor, finishing with carbon. Watch this it may give you some ideas and you can see how GFO needs to tumble. All and all I just spent the $60 and got the BRS kit. Note, this guy put in the "foam" pieces - (except to hold the carbon in). I don't use any foam as GFO does not need it and I feel they are nitrate sponges.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gm3HBOdpMIU

grmpfish17
02/24/2014, 09:27 PM
I'm using the BRS single reactor with BIO pellets the important thing is to make them tumble. Make sure you have a strong enough pump don't waste your money on to small of a pump (hint my first mistake) the pellets will get all clumped and get nasty.