PDA

View Full Version : Rock and sand is in.....

Gunsnroses
03/02/2014, 04:41 PM
....the tank that is. Got all the rock washed last night and the sand washed today.
I started out with a solid wall across the tank, but then decided to just use two islands. I really like the look of the wall better, but I think the two islands will serve me better down the road. I was able to get 180lbs of it in there.
Does it look o.k. or should I remove some of the rocks?

My sand calculator said I would be needing about 180lbs of sand to get a 2" bed. Well, after putting the rock in first and adding sand second, I could only fit 120lbs in there and my bed is about 2 1/2 to 3 inches deep.
Is that o.k?

Second up is mixing the salt. I am guessing there is no other way to do this now other than mixing it outside the tank?
Could I fill the tank with RO/DI, turn on the pumps and add the salt to the sump and let the pumps mix it?

CoralBeauty13
03/02/2014, 05:08 PM
I am kind of new to the hobby myself, but I have learned that you want to premix it first then add it. You set up look beautiful the way you have it. There is no surefire way of doing a sandbed. People will ask what are you going to have in there, wrasse that like to burro, sandsifters, those sorts of questions. I have a 180 with only about 1-2in sandbed depending on where your looking. I believe you are off to a good start, but I would not mix the salt in the tank, you most likely will never get it mixed correctly. I fill a plastic garbage can with my RO/DI water and mix the salt there with the pump running on the bottom of the can. Mix according to your salt stats directions.

Anyone else welcome to chime in if I'm incorrect. I am 8 months new in this hobby !!

jellyfish4me
03/02/2014, 05:11 PM
My vote goes for the first picture, I love that one! But the 2 islands looks nice to. Don't go and change it all because I said that! ;)