PDA

View Full Version : New tank- HELP

adamNdonna
03/10/2014, 05:29 PM
Hello!

We are Adam and Donna and just started a 55 saltwater tank. When I say just started I mean like last Thursday we filled it up added 3 bags of live sand, 50lbs of live rock with an octopus 1000 skimmer, two power heads with T5 lighting and a heater. We have been adding Stability daily following instructions on bottle. Our readings have pretty much stayed the same at salilinity 1.022, ph 8.2, ammonia 0, nitrites 0, nitrates 0 temp 79. Is this all normal? We have not seen the spikes ithat we hear people talking about. Should we add a little clean up crew?

crock921
03/10/2014, 05:31 PM
im a newb as well, but everything i have read has said to wait a few weeks on the cuc (clean up crew). your tank should cycle with the different levels as the live rock begins to filter the water in the tank, and turn it into a mini reef.

adamNdonna
03/10/2014, 05:36 PM
Hello crock921! We are new to the whole forum thing. I keep waiting for changes but see none. I guess I need to be more patient!
What size is your tank and how long has it been up and running?

rmcaum
03/10/2014, 05:53 PM
Was the live rock transported wet from a local fish store? You need some die off or an ammonia source to get the cycle started. You could add some pure ammonia and check the levels after 24 hours to see if your rock can keep up. There are threads on this site about dosing water volumes to a certain (1) ppm. I wouldn't add any live stock until you are sure that the bio filter can handle the ammonia.

gone fishin
03/10/2014, 05:58 PM