PDA

View Full Version : Looking for help with Lights for a nano reef

JammyBirch
03/19/2014, 12:43 PM
I'm new to this hobby and just bought a 25 gallon cube tank 18" deep. I was interested in the Current Orbit programmable light for the tank however it dosn't seem to get great reviews from people on the forum so i'm wondering if there is something else out there...

The nice part about the Orbit was the package deal that is programmable...not enough light is what i keep reading for some corals and especially anemones... The price was right too...

What are my options and/or alternatives? Any help wold be appreciated.

JRR1285
03/19/2014, 12:55 PM
What are the dimensions for the tank? A small LED fixture would probably be ideal. Does it need to be programmable or is that a bonus?

The current orbit looks like a nice light if you are going to be sticking to softies and some lower light LPS. It looks like it is too weak for an anemone especially with your water depth.

I would look at the Ocean Revive S026, I have one over my 40 Breeder and it is doing great. Ocean revive also has the T247 which is a timed version of the S026. You could also look at the Reef Breeder photon series if you want controllable.

Edit: There is also the evergrow lights like the D120 as well as other "eBay fixtures". They also work for many people just fine.

NWoods
03/19/2014, 01:33 PM
What are you planning on keeping in there? SPS, LPS, fish, anenomes, all of the above?

LED's are nice and energy efficient, however usually not enough output for corals. Metal Halides will more than likely get you the light you need for corals and anenomes. Even the 3W LED's is barely enough for some SPS corals. With the 25G cube, you might be ok with 3W LED's. Anything over 10,000k is good. If doing corals, I would go for anything over 15,000k.