PDA

View Full Version : Salt selection

toddmau5
03/21/2014, 07:51 PM
I know this topic has been beat to absolute death of the years, over and over and over again. Some people swear their lives on certain salts, some people choose one, it works and thats what they stick with. I am thinking about changing salts, actually, I think I'm needing to change salts, so I was looking for a couple opinions. Currently I use Reef Crystals, I have been using reef crystals for about 7 months now. Every since day 1 my alkalinity has been 11. Calcium has always been really high at 500+. With no clear answers on how to lower the alkalinity with the calcium so high, the best answer was "it will come down on its own" Recently tho, now that I have all my other levels in check I need to get my alkalinity down as I am starting to get burnt tips on my sps. (i know high alk will cause tissue necrosis) The other night after water change my alk was 12dkh, my acros are not happy about this... One of the main reasons I chose reef crystals initially was the high magnesium level. The chaeto in my sump completely sucks my tank dry of mag. So I went with the highest mag level I could find and the dosing has been not so bad. I have been told that The next best thing I can do is to switch salts to get my alkalinity level down. A lot of people suggested to go with red sea regular salt. To the best of my search skills it looks like the red sea reg has an alkalinity of about 7dkh, but the magnesium is, if I remember correctly 1240? Which is just a little too low for my taste with the magnesium leach in my sump, I try to keep it up around 1450. So The questions is, is it better to switch to a salt with lower levels and just start the dosing life, or stick with what I have and find a way to get the alkalinity down?

Every1jockzjay
03/21/2014, 09:53 PM