PDA

View Full Version : CADLights 8 Gallon Build

wmitchell96
03/31/2014, 07:52 PM
Hi! I am brand new to the saltwater world, so try to bear with my as I am sure I will make many mistakes. After a good bit of research, I decided to go with the CADLights 8. I plan on keeping most things stock. I have added a Koralia Nano 245. I just added water and about a pound of rubble that I eventually plan to keep in the filtration area. So far I have come across a few issues. With my Eheim Jager 50w heater set on the lowest setting, the temperature has not dropped below 84. I am going to try to turn it off and see what the temperature sits at with no heater. Also, the return pump is causing sand to be pushed out of the front right corner. I am considering a Hydor Flo to remedy this issue. Plan to keep mostly softies and a few LPS. May try a few SPS in the future. The only fish I am thinking of keeping is a Firefish and maybe a clown goby. We'll see! I'll post a picture of what the tank looks like as of now. I am completely open to any suggestions you all might have!

I'd also like to give special thanks to terrypercula; I have been drilling him with questions over the past few weeks!

terrypercula
03/31/2014, 08:28 PM
:thumbsup: let the fun begin.

JJ650
03/31/2014, 10:16 PM
I had the same problem with my Cad 8g. I put the hydor on there and it fixed the issue. I use a Cobalt neotherm and I have never had an issue with it. Works quickly and correctly. I have a large Zoa colony (close to a 100 heads), a beaded rock anemone, galaxea (I do not recommend getting this for this tank...sweeper tentacles are LOOONNGG and deadly), silver gorgonian, pulsing xenia, small zoa colony porcelain crabs and CUC. No major water issues, save for one bacteria bloom that fixed itself in a day or 2.
Most of it will be transferred to a 34G Solana I recently picked up.

wmitchell96
03/31/2014, 10:30 PM
Here's the pic of the tank, let me know if it doesn't work.