PDA

View Full Version : Help with Zoas

hdang
04/05/2014, 10:15 AM
So I am new to the Reefing Community I was planning to buy my mom a bigger tank, about a 120 gallon tank, reef tank, so I figured before I go crazy with buying corals that I have no clue about, I am going to start my trial and error in a 30 gallon tank. So so far, I learned that Zoas are pretty hearty creatures, so I bought a hammer, duncan and lemonade frag so far they are all opened up, but not in the way that I saw them first at my LFS.

In your opinion how do you guys think that they are doing? Is their positioning good enough? How can I improve on it? Also one last question while buying the frags, I also bought the Reef Foundation liquid supplement pack, has anyone else bought or used it? If so can you help me on how to properly use it? The one I got is pretty confusing and I don't understand it at all.

hdang
04/05/2014, 10:17 AM
Also, how can I know if my "live rocks" are actually live? I know that its the organisms on the rock that makes it "Live" but so far, I don't see a whole lot, if any..

syngraves
04/07/2014, 11:29 AM
what are your tank parameters?

the Hammer coral looks good, the zoa frag is hard to tell. as for the duncan i have never kept one of them. I always position new frags in the very bottom of my tank when i first get them until the become acclimated to the light and water flow. i check on the daily and after about a week to 2 weeks ill slowly move them up higher toward where i want them to go.

sometimes a coral might not want to be all the way on the very top of a rock or on the bottom in the sand. so its pretty much finding the sweet spot where they are happy with flow and lighting.