PDA

View Full Version : Concerns with Well Water pH after RO/DI

Amoo
04/27/2014, 02:47 PM
I have a degree in Nuclear Engineering, it's been a while since school, but feel free to talk dirty to me.

As the title states, I have well water and an RO/DI unit on order. Last night I got to thinking that most tap water is usually basic, but because of where I live I had the thought that my well water might be acidic. After testing I was correct, well below 6.0, like well below. If 6.0 is orange, strip was yellow. We had a water quality test done a while ago to test the contents, but I can't locate it at the moment to give the exact value.

My concern is what is my pH going to look like after RO/DI? IIRC they tend to exhaust their resin and start to release basic water, which would tell me the units are seeded with acidic particles. Hopefully I'm getting my theory backwards and somebody can correct me, but it would be nice to know if I'm going to need something to adjust my pH before I get everything here and start dumping water into my tank for it's cycle.

Thanks,

Moo

Randy Holmes-Farley
04/27/2014, 04:39 PM
The pH after the DI is irrelevant and unmeasurable for you (at least until it is depleted).

BUT, if your well water has significant CO2 in it (lowering the pH), that can deplete the DI pretty fast as CO2 gets through an RO membrane fairly readily. You can get a test kit to measure the CO2 from Spectrapure.

I discuss the pH issue here:

Reverse Osmosis/Deionization Systems to Purify Tap Water for Reef Aquaria
http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2005-05/rhf/index.htm

from it:

Final Effluent pH