PDA

View Full Version : My first baby

Insert
05/09/2014, 01:20 PM
This is my first Salt tank that I inherited. Still working to get lvls right but all the fishies are happy. I would love to get feed back on things I should do or change. Hell even if you think its crap just let me know. Like I said I am new to this had many fresh water tanks in the past but just got bored with it. I've only had this tank for a week and I have already sunk many hours toying around and researching.

-
20 Gallons, eheim pump, 3 fish and LR. Might change lights soon to try a little reef

Cymonous
05/09/2014, 01:36 PM
Ditch the canister filter. It will increase your nitrates(which is not good for a reef). I see hair algae on the one rock in the first picture at least. You can take it out and scrub it with a toothbrush in a bucket of saltwater.

The HOB filter either ditch or run with a bag of gfo and/or carbon.

Get some good test kits, not API. Some good brands are Salifert and Red Sea.

Insert
05/09/2014, 01:45 PM
Just so I understand, Wouldn't I need the filter? Figured it would cycle my water and keep things moving without a sump.

Uncle Salty 05
05/09/2014, 02:08 PM
If you want to keep corals you will need to upgrade your lighting.
Do you have a full tank shot?
A sump is a much better alternative than a canister. Sumps give you much more flexibility and functionality.

Cymonous
05/09/2014, 02:11 PM
You have at least one powerhead on the left side. That should give you enough water movement. The HOB is just not necessary. The rock is your biological filtration. You can run the HOB if you want, but like I said you can put a bag of gfo or carbon in there. If you have the HOB just for water movement, it is not going to move much and is just a waste of electricity.

If you really want a good mechanical filtration, then get a HOB Skimmer.

johanasu
05/09/2014, 02:29 PM