PDA

View Full Version : Flushing sound...

JammyBirch
05/11/2014, 06:54 PM
I have a 25gallon Perfecto cube from marine land, man this thing is loud.

The tank is back drilled, the drain is a durst style I think. Basically it's a PVC 90 down facing with a hole drilled in it at the top and a small vent tube. Does anyone have any experience with these types of drains? I'm a total noob, have the drain on a ball valve to restrict flow and it helps a little but it still flushes like a toilet...HELP!!!

myram
05/11/2014, 07:18 PM
http://www.dursostandpipes.com/frequently-asked-questions/78-flushing-effect-why-does-the-water-level-go-up-and-down

ca1ore
05/11/2014, 08:50 PM
Flushing sound is either an over-taxed durso drain, a clogged air vent on said durso drain or all your disposable cash going down the money-pit that is your reef tank ..... The first thing is to makes sure the vent tube is not clogged with salt creep, second you may have to restrict your pump a bit .... cannot help with the third as I have the same problem.

Pife
05/11/2014, 11:22 PM
Flushing sound is either an over-taxed durso drain, a clogged air vent on said durso drain or all your disposable cash going down the money-pit that is your reef tank ..... The first thing is to makes sure the vent tube is not clogged with salt creep, second you may have to restrict your pump a bit .... cannot help with the third as I have the same problem.

So true!

Jandawil
05/12/2014, 02:18 PM
Mine did that at first. Best thing I ever did as far as plumbing was replace the 90 degree bend on your drain with a capped T (drilled for air tube). Cap is just dry-fit and not glued for easy access for maintenance.
http://i45.photobucket.com/albums/f71/jandawil/Aquarium/cbc2b4ff1b717550498c667c0ab42244.jpg (http://s45.photobucket.com/user/jandawil/media/Aquarium/cbc2b4ff1b717550498c667c0ab42244.jpg.html)

JammyBirch
05/12/2014, 04:44 PM
Ok so here is what I have learned and what I have done to get a very quiet sounding tank...